1991-92 Turner Cup Champions

1992 Western Division Champions
1992 Western Conference Playoff Champions
1992 Fred A. Huber Trophy (Regular Season Champions)
1992 Ken Ullyot Trophy (Western Conference Champions)
James Norris Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Goaltenders): Arturs Irbe, Wade Flaherty
Commissioners Trophy (Coach of the Year): Kevin Constantine
Andy Mulligan Trophy (Executive of the Year): Doug Soetaert
N.R. "Bud" Poile Trophy (Playoff MVP): Ron Handy

Record: 56-22-4, 116 points
Home: 31-8-2, 64 points
Road: 25-14-2, 52 points
Won Turner Cup against Muskegon Lumberjacks

Team members
John Carter, Mike Colman, Ed Courtenay, Dale Craigwell, Larry DePalma, Gary Emmons, Kevin Evans, Wade Flaherty, Gord Frantti, Troy Fredrick, Ron Handy, Arturs Irbe, Duane Joyce, Dean Kolstad, Mikhail Kravets, Peter Lappin, Rick Lessard, Pat MacLeod, Jeff Madill, Jeff Odgers, Sandis Ozolinsh, Tom Pederson, Jean Francois Quintin, Claudio Scremin, Russ and Diane Parker (owners), Doug Soetaert (GM and vice president), Kevin Constantine (head coach), Jim Wiley (assistant coach), Kody Moffatt (trainer), Tim LeRoy (equipment manager)

March 30, 1991Blades announce an affiliation with the San Jose Sharks of the NHL.
April 3, 1991Doug Soetaert is named General Manager.
July 11, 1991Kevin Constantine is named head coach.
October 26, 1991Blades win tenth consecutive game to start the season, establishing a record.
February 19, 1992Blades clinch their first playoff spot.
March 26, 1992Blades win the IHL Western Conference Regular Season Championship.
April 3, 1992Blades awarded Huber Trophy as regular season champions.
April 10, 1992Blades win first playoff game versus the Salt Lake Golden Eagles (5-3 BLADES WIN).
April 18, 1992 Blades win first playoff series, against the Salt Lake Golden Eagles (4-1).
May 12, 1992Blades win Turner Cup.

The run for the Turner Cup in 1992 actually began on March 3, 1991, before the 1990-91 inagural season was over. On that date, General Manager and Vice President Doug Soetaert completed an affiliation agreement with the San Jose Sharks of the National Hockey League. This affiliation would provide the Blades with the NHL team's top prospects.
The 1991-92 season began with a 10-0 record. During the annual American Royal road trip, the team went 9-4. To add to the team's league leading power, the Blades re-signed first season star Ron Handy. Handy led the team in scoring during the 1990-91 season. On December 13, the Blades got their first shutout victory against the San Diego Gulls.

With the great start the Blades had to the season, several members of the team became mid-season All-Stars. Head Coach Kevin Constantine, goaltenders Arturs Irbe and Wade Flaherty, forwards Gary Emmons and Jeff Madill, and defenseman Pat MacLeod all made the trip to the mid-season classic in Atlanta, Georgia.

On March 26, the Blades won against the Phoenix Roadrunners to clinch the Western Division title. On April 3, they beat the San Diego Gulls to win the IHL Huber Trophy for having the most points in the league. The team finished the regular season with a 56-22-4 record.
Last updated October 12, 2015